Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

DAILY BULLETIN: Random news bits, and, yep, more trailers!

communityIt’s been one of those very slow news days (actually two very slow news days, ’cause I missed Monday’s post). There are lots of little tidbits, which I can list for you in brief:

  • Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Josh Brolin and Chris Meloni will be in A Dame To Kill For, the Sin City sequel. No word on who the titular dame is yet.
  • Woody Allen’s next movie has been announced. It’ll be called Blue Jasmine, and it’ll star Alec Baldwin, Cate Blanchett, and Louie C.K., among others.
  • The DGA nominations came out. Quentin Tarantino was snubbed, while Tom Hooper gained a nomination, much to the chagrin of many an angry Internet fanboy. I can’t really comment, because I haven’t seen Les Miserables. But basically everything I’ve heard is that Hooper’s directorial choice of shooting the film mostly in close-ups is extremely distracting and detracts from the material. Again, I haven’t seen it, that’s just what I’ve heard. I thought Tarantino’s work on Django was characteristically excellent. But I don’t need his movies to win awards to get me into the theatre, so I don’t really care.
  • Here’s one that barely even qualifies as news (I only mention it because it concerns my favourite TV show): NBC Chairman Bob Greenblatt declares the next season of Community will have “more heart”. Good lord, Bob, don’t oversell it… Community is pretty much on its last legs I think, but hey, at least NBC should be able to squeeze a few more bucks out of it, right Bob? On the fate of the show, he said, “I’m always hopeful for a show to continue. We co-own it and I’d love nothing more than to see it continue.” Yeah, that’s real encouraging… I refer you to the look on Troy’s face in the image accompanying this news post.
  • The Halloween special of Here Comes Honey Boo Boo drew 3.1 million viewers, making it the most-watched and highest-rated episode of the series to date. All I can say is WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?!

I mean, I guess there’s some stuff there that’s a bit interesting, but nothing I can really sink my teeth into for a write up. The point form version pretty much says all I have to say. So, trailers to the rescue!

Girls Against Boys

This is a film by writer/director Austin Chick, a guy I know nothing about. It stars Danielle Panabaker and Nicole LaLiberte. Neither actress has really made a huge mark on Hollywood to date. They each have a lot of credits in guest spots on various TV shows. Panabaker’s biggest deal was her role as James Woods’s daughter in the short-lived series Shark, which I remember watching once or twice. And like many an attractive young actress, she’s had her share of roles in crappy horror movies like The Ward, Piranha 3DD and The Crazies. As for LaLiberte, I’m unfamiliar with her stuff – a two-episode guest spot on Dexter is probably the highlight. But whatever, everyone’s gotta start somewhere.

This movie looks like a pretty standard genre thriller. I’ll probably end up watching it when it makes its way to DVD somewhere down the road. In my most recent podcast I wished that Django Unchained had better/more active female characters (like some of Tarantino’s other films). Girls Against Boys definitely puts the ladies in the driver’s seat, but it’s not really doing it in a good way. I’m reminded a bit of Sucker Punch, where the idea is the ladies are all empowered and whatnot as they battle their male oppressors… But they’re also conveniently dressed in skimpy outfits for all the guys in the audience to drool over. Sucker Punch tried to have its cake and eat it too by being a critique of the kind of shallow, ogling male audience member it attracted, but I don’t think any guy who went to see that movie solely for its boob quotient actually cared, so…

Anyway, Girls Against Boys premiered at South By Southwest, where it was met with mixed reviews. It comes out on February 1st.

Side Effects

This is the second trailer for Side Effects, the new film from Steven Soderbergh. You can see the first one, which came out a couple of months ago, here. This new trailer is quite a bit shorter, and from what I can tell it contains no new footage. But what the hell, I haven’t talked about this movie before, so here’s my chance.

This movie marks the third collaboration between Soderbergh and writer Scott Z. Burns, after The Informant! and Contagion. I’m hoping for a movie that’s closer in quality to the latter than the former. Side Effects certainly seems to be charting similar territory, except it’s dealing with a prescription drug rather than a virus outbreak.

As with most Soderbergh movies, the casting is excellent. I’m mainly excited to see Rooney Mara again. This film will be her follow up to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and her work on that carried much of the movie. Channing Tatum is also along as her soon-to-be-released-from-jail husband. He’s alright, I guess. And you’ve got Catherine Zeta-Jones in there as well. I feel like I haven’t seen her in much lately, but I enjoy her work. Oh, and Jude Law, of course.

I’m not entirely sure what this film’s about, but by the looks of it there’s a bad drug on the market, so presumably it’ll involve a large pharmaceutical company, cover-ups, conspiracies and stuff like that. Like I said, similar territory to Contagion. Sounds good to me! Side Effects opens February 8th.

Only God Forgives

This doesn’t really qualify as a trailer, since it’s, y’know, twenty seconds long (apologies for the low quality as well). But it is the first look we’ve had at this film, so I wanted to discuss it briefly. Only God Forgives is writer/director Nicolas Winding Refn’s follow up to 2011’s Drive. That film, like this one, starred Ryan Gosling. The IMDb summary reads like this: “A Bangkok police lieutenant and a gangster settle their differences in a Thai-boxing match.” I’m gonna go ahead and guess that there’s a lot more than that going on here, but as far as what that might be, your guess is as good as mine.

I’m definitely up for this, but I’m curious to see how Gosling’s character is treated. In Drive, he was practically mute, which I thought was ultimately something of a detriment. I’d like to see him be a bit more chatty this time around. I’m also curious to see how Kristin Scott Thomas’s character plays into things. This short clip really didn’t give any sense of her character (or any of the others, actually). But it definitely looks to have a ton of action, both with the fists and feet, and some really big-ass knives. I look forward to seeing a longer trailer sometime soon.

There’s no word yet on a release date. Only God Forgives opens in Refn’s native Denmark on May 23rd, so we might not be seeing it for a bit.

Leave a Reply

