Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

DAILY BULLETIN: I like JJ Abrams, new Evil Dead trailer, House Of Cards trailers, Snowpiercer stuff

So after I suffered through several days in a row of little news to discuss, today my ship has come in. I’ve got no fewer than four topics I’d like to share. And only two of them are trailers! Will wonders never cease…

JJ Abrams is a swell fellow
J.J.AbramsIn a story that’s both sad and heartwarming, JJ Abrams recently arranged a special screening of his upcoming film Star Trek: Into Darkness for a dying fan. Dan, the fan in question, is fighting a losing battle against two different forms of cancer. Doctors give him only a few weeks to live, and Star Trek doesn’t open until May. A family friend took to Reddit, and the community apparently was able to spread the word to a receptive ear at Paramount, resulting in Dan being able to see an early version of the film, which is still in post-production. Dan’s wife posted this message after the screening:

Hi everyone, it’s Daniel’s wife, we are of course sworn to secrecy, BUT we are officially allowed to say we saw it and we enjoyed it IMMENSELY as a film and as a gesture….

This is a story of us giving something to him, the ‘internet’ community giving something to him and ultimately being a heartwarming gift to our friends, family and so many others. This story of us (and of course JJAbrams & Bad Robot) being able to give this surprise gift of a screening to a huge movie buff like Daniel, especially a film made by a film maker who obviously makes movies with such care, with a fan like Daniel in mind (and a person like me who knows slightly less about these things).

I’ve probably said some crappy stuff about JJ Abrams’s movies in the past (and God knows I probably will again in the future). But JJ Abrams as a person is pretty much beyond reproach from this point on, I think. Kudos to him for opening the mystery box ahead of schedule and allowing a person who needed something to smile about in their life a couple of hours of escapism.

The red band trailer for Evil Dead looks… pretty disgusting
If you’d asked me before now about my anticipation level for the Evil Dead remake that’s coming out this April, I’d have said, “Meh…” I knew Diablo Cody was involved in the writing process somehow, and didn’t necessarily see her talent for writing lines like, “This is one doodle that can’t be un-did, homeskillet,” as an asset in this kind of film. Plus, her previous foray into the horor genre, Jennifer’s Body, was pretty disastrous.

And then there was this:

So yeah, consider me firmly on board. But before going further, a quick confession. While Army Of Darkness is one of my favourite films of all time, I’ve never actually seen The Evil Dead or Evil Dead II. I don’t know how to account for this, but hopefully I can correct my oversight before this new film comes out. If/when I do, you’ll definitely hear about it on the podcast.

Returning to the trailer above, I love the tone that’s being presented. There’s really no humour to be had – it’s just grim, dark, dirty, and gross. I love a good horror comedy, but a straight-up horror movie is always welcome too. And on the writing front, had I been paying more attention I would’ve remembered Cody was rewriting a script from Fede Alvarez rather than starting from scratch. When the film was originally announced, she tweeted, “Fede Alvarez wrote a brilliant script. My job is easy. Have no fear. (Wait, do have fear.)” So any worries I had about her writing not working for this movie have been somewhat alleviated.

As a final thought, I have to say I like how this trailer ramps up. At first, I was going, “Hmm, this looks a bit generic.” And then: tree rape, a faceful of red vomit, a creepy demonic chick taunting people, a whole lot of chainsawing, and just for good measure, a knife to the tongue (not much can creep me out these days but that last one is an exception). Well done, I say!

New trailers for House Of Cards hit Netflix
First things first, let me say that I can’t watch these trailers. They are not working for me at the moment. But for now I’ll give you the link to the page on Netflix’s site where they appear. Maybe you’ll have better luck. If not, I’m sure they’ll be uploaded to Youtube soon enough. And when that happens, I’ll update this post.

For now, I’ll take this opportunity to discuss the original trailer for the new series. Here it is:

There are a lot of reasons to be excited for House Of Cards, and many of them are on display above. You really couldn’t ask for a better cast: Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, Kate Mara… The list goes on. But if that’s not enough, let me remind you that David Fincher is executive producing, and also directing the first two episodes of the series. And the writing staff for the series is being lead by Beau Willimon, the playwright who penned Farragut North (which was later brought to the big screen by George Clooney under the title The Ides Of March). He seems like a guy who has the whole “political intrigue” thing down. So you couldn’t do much better for a series like this. House Of Cards premieres on Netflix February 1st.

A bunch of stuff from Snowpiercer
This news popped up in a bunch of places, so I don’t really feel the need to repost everything here. But basically, all sorts of promotional materials for Snowpiercer (director Bong Joon-ho’s English language debut) have appeared online. Brad Brevet tells you pretty much all you need to know at Collider, so I’ll let him take it away.

And there we go, another week of bulletins completed! Well, this week was shortened with the holidays and all, but still… Next week I should have updates every day from Monday to Friday. I’m not going to promise it, but I will do my best. No holidays or other plans to get in the way as far as I know. And remember I’ll have a podcast coming out this weekend, finally! I’ll be talking about Django Unchained, The Iron Giant, Dead Reckoning, and anything else I see between now and Sunday, so be sure to check back.

3 responses to “DAILY BULLETIN: I like JJ Abrams, new Evil Dead trailer, House Of Cards trailers, Snowpiercer stuff

  1. Luis A. Ramirez (@wordforger) January 4, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    Some quick comments:

    1. It is a nice gesture by Abrams but the cynic inside me thinks about the scene in “Scrooged” when Frank Cross (Bill Murray) is confronted with the news that an elderly woman died as a result of watching a promo for his upcoming “Christmas Carol” TV special and exults “This is terrific!! I knew that ad worked! You can’t buy publicity like this!”. Curiosity makes me wonder if Abrams didn’t have a similar unspoken thought cross his mind.

    2. Wow. You really should watch both Evil Dead films as the scenes in the trailer really harken back to events that occurred in each film. The funny thing is that I might suggest you watch “Evil Dead 2” first as it has a greater correlation to “Army of Darkness”. In some ways it’s a comedic remake of the first film which played it straight and as a result the first film may seem more generic as many films have copied its format (and deconstructed it a la “Cabin in the Woods”) over the years. “Evil Dead 2” has a strong comedic component to it such as the Ernest Hemingway reference which is used to droll effect. You’ll know it when you see it.

    3. “House of Cards” definitely has a strong pedigree attached to it. But Kevin Spacey’s southern accent leaves something to be desired and is a little distracting. That being said, I really hope they keep using the technique of breaking the fourth wall in the series. I’ve always found it a fun and irreverent way if imparting information to the audience (“Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” used it to perfection) and Spacey may have the charm to pull it off.

    Looking forward to (and hoping I’ll have the time) to comment on your future bulletins.

  2. Mike Lake January 4, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    1. I wouldn’t fault Abrams if he did because I guarantee I’d have the same thought. Hopefully I’d keep my mind mostly on the person I’m doing it for, but I’d definitely also be aware that it would make me look good. And even more aware that if I were dumb and DIDN’T set up a screening for some reason, the Internet would most likely have a cow.

    2. Hopefully going to watch the Evil Dead movies in the next couple of days, just in time for the podcast.

    3. I too enjoy it when movies break the fourth wall. So much so that I considered “The Fourth Wall Film Podcast” or something similar as a title for my podcast (turns out this name is already in use, big surprise). The example I always think of for breaking the fourth wall is Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back, which does it a whole bunch of times. But yeah, Bueller is definitely the better usage, right through to the end of the credits (“You’re still here? It’s over… Go home. Go!”)

    Thanks for commenting!

  3. Pingback: DAILY BULLETIN: Big ol’ update! Sundance, random news, a trailer… « Slandering Others Anonymously

Leave a Reply

