Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

DAILY BULLETIN: Dead Man Down trailer, what’s next for Pixar, Captain America news

Well, I’m still resisting the urge to do a bunch of superfluous posts about “the ten best/worst whatevers of 2012!” So far I seem to be holding up alright. But finding things to talk about in the realm of movie news this time of year continues to be a challenge.

As per Daily Bulletin’s unintentional but increasingly firm tradition, I’ll begin by discussing a trailer. In this case, the trailer for Dead Man Down. It’s been online for a few days, but it wasn’t available in high quality at first so I held off posting it. Well, the HQ trailer has arrived, so take a look:

Dead Man Down

This film marks the English language debut of Danish director Niels Arden Oplev, best known for directing the original Swedish adaptation of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. It stars Noomi Rapace, Colin Farrell, Terrence Howard, and Dominic Cooper. Basically, Howard is some type of crime boss, Rapace is one of his victims, and Farrell is caught in the middle – he works for Howard, but he’s seduced/blackmailed (mostly the former, I think)  into going after his boss by Rapace. Not sure how Cooper figures in exactly. A buddy of Farrell’s, maybe?

On the surface, this looks to be pretty straightforward – the usual “guy who used to be a bad guy is shown the error of his ways and turns on his former cohorts” stuff. But I’m curious about the dynamics of the Farrell/Rapace relationship. As I mentioned, it seems like Farrell is being blackmailed at first (the video of him killing a guy), but then a love story develops later? I don’t know if that devolves back into mutual distrust later on or stays strong throughout, so it’ll be interesting to see to what extent that angle is played up.

On a writing level, I’m not sure what to expect. This one’s penned by J.H. Wyman. He’s a guy who hasn’t had the greatest success in the film world (about the best thing on his resumé is The Mexican). But on the TV side, he wrote a bunch of episodes of Fringe. I don’t watch that, but it’s supposed to be pretty alright. So that’s something.

The casting here looks strong, so I think if the script avoids getting too formulaic and provides enough twists to keep to keep audiences on their toes, the results could be good. Dead Man Down hits theaters March 8th.

What’s next for Pixar
I’m always curious to know what Pixar’s up to next, and conveniently enough, a few pieces of concept art have made their way online. The first one isn’t really anything new – it’s for the prequel to Monsters, Inc. called Monsters University, which I’m only a little interested in. Pixar seems to do better with original ideas rather than spinoffs/sequels (well, with the exception of the Toy Story movies). Monster University will be directed by Dan Scanlon, who previously served as a storyboard artist on Cars, and co-directed the Cars video spinoff Mater And The Ghostlight. It comes out June 21st. (Click the images for larger versions).

pixar1

Next up, here’s a look at The Good Dinosaur. This is a film that asks, “What would the world be like if dinosaurs never went extinct?” (Presumably it doesn’t arrive at my answer, which is “We’d all be freaking dead, duh.”) The Good Dinosaur is directed by Bob Petersen, who co-directed Up alongside Pete Docter. It comes to theatres on May 30th, 2014.

pixar2

Speaking of Pete Docter, it just so happens we got some concept art for his next project too. Titled Inside Out, it will explore “the world inside the human mind.” It comes out June 19th, 2015.

pixar3

And last but not least, let’s look at the art for an untitled film about the Dia de los Muertos. This one will be directed by Lee Unkrich (co-director of Toy Story 2, Monsters, Inc. and Finding Nemo and director of Toy Story 3). It’ll come out some time in 2016.

pixar4

Overall, this looks to be a solid crop of movies. The last two sound the most interesting to me, but they’re also the least detailed outlines right now. I look forward to hearing more about these projects as they get closer to release.

Hayley Atwell won’t be back for Captain America: The Winter Soldier
hayley-atwellYou know it’s a slow news day when I start talking about things that aren’t happening. In this case, the thing that’s not happening is Hayley Atwell returning for the Captain America sequel. Although this isn’t earth-shattering news, I felt I should at least make mention of it because I was a big fan of Atwell’s work in the first film. The relationship between her character, Peggy Carter, and Steve Rogers was one of the best things in the movie. Just compare the treatment of that relationship to the relationship between Thor and Jane Foster in Thor. The difference is night and day. Now granted, I think Thor has its strong points too (i.e. it had a much more interesting villain)… But now I’m getting off subject.

Returning to Atwell, while I’m disappointed she won’t be around, I understand why. The new Captain America film takes place in the present, so the Peggy Carter from The First Avenger would be much older. I believe an older Peggy Carter will be in the film at some point, but I don’t see the need to bring Atwell back in a bunch of makeup for that, especially if it’s only a brief scene. Much easier to cast a different, older actress.

News about Cap’s love interest for the new film has been scant lately, but I think the plan is to have Sharon Carter (Peggy’s niece) appear in The Winter Soldier. Last I heard (according to a Deadline article from a few months back), the shortlist for Sharon consists of: Emelia Clarke, Jessica Brown Findlay, Teresa Palmer, Imogen Poots, and Alison Brie. Assuming they opt to keep a Brit in the role, Palmer and Brie would be out. But who knows?

Okay, so now I’m just speculating about a casting choice that hasn’t even happened yet, so… Let’s just wait until there’s actually a decision on this before getting too wound up.

That does it for today’s bulletin. Check back tomorrow for whatever news I manage to scrape together from among the mass of year-end list posts every other blog is running!

3 responses to “DAILY BULLETIN: Dead Man Down trailer, what’s next for Pixar, Captain America news

  1. Luis A. Ramirez (@wordforger) January 3, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    Hey Mike,

    I wanted to let you know I’ve been reading your posts regularly and enjoying the information and opinions you’ve imparted even though I haven’t commented regularly. As a general overview, I find your daily bulletins a good read and I’m impressed so far with your constant output. I know the time and work it goes to putting something out there to publish especially when you aren’t rewarded without any compensation whether it be financially or even just a comment or anything otherwise, So my hat’s off to you for your diligence and persistence in putting out these daily posts.

    Also I enjoy your podcasts and look forward to hearing more from you. As a strange aside, I actually preferred your earlier podcasts from an artistic level only because it had a rougher presentation to it. With your new setup, you sound more polished but also seem to be fitting into a generic mold with your radio DJ enhanced voice instead of a “voice crying out in the wilderness”. It’s a slight silly aesthetic on my part and the important part of any podcast is the value of the content, which you provide favorably and in spades.

    i don’t mind the trailer reviews, after all, movies are now more in abundance than they were in the past and these “sneak previews” are a glimpse of a promise to come and it’s always interesting to see what reaction it provokes from moviegoers like yourself. What I’m finding interesting to me is all the sci-fi films that seem to be coming out in 2013. As it’s my favorite genre of film, I’m hoping it will provoke a greater interest in me to go out to the movie theater more often. it’s been a long time since I’ve gone to the movies and this year may be the deciding point of whether I find it relevant enough to become a regular moviegoer again.

    Well I’ve rambled enough for now (time isn’t permitting me to say more at the moment) but hopefully I’ll follow up with a more specific comment on the bulletin later on in the day. As always keep up the good work and please continue to share your love and interest in film.

    • Mike Lake January 3, 2013 at 11:43 pm

      Wow, thanks Luis! Glad you’re enjoying the posts. They are time consuming but I do kind of get a kick out of recapping the news, even when not much is going on. Plus I needed to start doing something to work on my writing, so these daily posts seemed like a great way to sharpen up.

      Appreciate your comments re: the podcast. The most recent one I did was the first one on a new recording setup that I hadn’t quite figured out, so my voice sounded especially “late night DJ-ish” because I was half talking/half whispering. That should be sorted out next time. As far as the format of the show and the way I dole out the information, I’m still tweaking things… I think lately I’ve tried to get too specific and organized with giving a lot of background info instead of just focusing on my opinions. So on that front, your suggestion has been noted. I’m sure I’ll continue to play around with the presentation. I’ll be recording a show this weekend, so hopefully you’ll get a chance to listen.

      Thanks again. 🙂

  2. Pingback: DAILY BULLETIN: Random news updates and a bunch of trailers! « Slandering Others Anonymously

Leave a Reply

