Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

DAILY BULLETIN: Link dump!

metropolis-posterSorry guys, no time for even a short edition of the Daily Bulletin today. I am utterly exhausted. The perils of working full time and trying to write daily blog posts (even short ones) are quickly becoming apparent…

That said, I did get a chance to do a little browsing around a few movie blogs before work this morning, so below I’ve collected a few links to some movie-related stories that might be of interest. Hopefully there’ll be some good news to talk about tomorrow. Otherwise, see you Monday!

-Deadline.com reports a rich crazy person has purchased a rare poster for the 1927 Fritz Lang film Metropolis for a cool $1.2 million. And I thought Mondo’s posters were pricyMetropolis remains on my list of shame, by the way. I look forward to seeing it someday.

Another teaser trailer for Shane Carruth’s new film Upstream Color came out. You can read a bit about the film in an earlier edition of the Daily Bulletin. I think I like this one even better than the first.

-Andre Dellamorte has a series of articles up on Collider.com about his visit to the set of Gangster Squad. He interviewed the director Ruben Fleischer, as well as stars Josh Brolin, Anthony Mackie, Robert Patrick, and Giovanni Ribisi. Some good stuff in these write-ups.

-The Golden Globe nominations have been announced, and The Hollywood Reporter has the list. You can check it out and draw your own conclusions, but I see some weird stuff right off the top. The list for best comedies seems pretty suspect. Les Miserables? Admittedly I haven’t read it, but I got a good deal of the way into it once before getting sidetracked and not much of it struck me as a hilarious good time. Similarly, Salmon Fishing On The Yemen? Not a comedy. I thought it was a good film, or at least a decent one, and it did have a few laughs (many of them courtesy of Kristin Scott Thomas). But yeah, not a comedy.

The best actor/actress lists are also a bit strange. Now admittedly, the types of films that’ve been my favourite this year (like, say The Avengers or The Cabin In The Woods) just aren’t the types of things that’re going to win these kinds of awards. I get that. But Denzel Washington for Flight? How about Liam Neeson for The Grey instead? Maybe nobody remembers that film at this point in the year, but I sure do. I didn’t love it, but it definitely made me think in a way I absolutely wasn’t expecting, and Neeson’s performance is undeniably great. “Live and die on this day. Live and die on this day.”

Leave a Reply

