Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

DAILY BULLETIN: Unforgiven remake trailer, AFI’s top ten, Star Trek: Into Darkness confusion continues

First trailer for Unforgiven remake
Hollywood has a long tradition of taking perfectly good foreign films and remaking them in English for North American audiences, but now the shoe’s on the other foot. Maybe it’s delayed revenge for all those Akira Kurosawa films that Sergio Leone and others remade in the sixties? Whatever the case, Unforgiven is being remade by director Sang-il Lee. The Japanese title is Yurusarezaru mono. Have a look at the trailer (it’s not subtitled, so unless you speak Japanese you’ll just have to enjoy the imagery):

I’m moderately interested to see how this one turns out, but I have some reservations. Remakes in general aren’t my favourite thing. That’s not to say they can’t be done well (i.e. the Leone remakes I mentioned earlier, like A Fistful of Dollars), but I’d always rather just see where the idea began than see someone else’s version of the original.

The other problem here is that Unforgiven is a damn fine western. I’m of the opinion that if you’re going to remake something, don’t pick a movie that’s already awesome. Pick something you can update and improve on. Like The Thing or The Fly, or something like that. When you start with a movie that’s near perfect, there’s really nowhere to go but down.

I’m not entirely doom and gloom though. Ken Watanabe is starring, so presumably playing the Clint Eastwood role. He’s one of the best Japanese actors around today. If anyone can pull off a reinterpretation of William Munny, I’d say it’s him.

American Film Institute releases their top 10
It begins. Awards season is fast approaching, and to help get things kicked off, AFI has named their ten best films (and nine best TV shows) of 2012. The lists are as follows:

AFI MOVIES OF THE YEAR
-Argo
-Beasts Of The Southern Wild
-The Dark Knight Rises
-Django Unchained
-Les Miserables
-Life Of Pi
-Lincoln
-Moonrise Kingdom
-Silver Linings Playbook
-Zero Dark Thirty

AFI TV PROGRAMS OF THE YEAR
-American Horror Story: Asylum
-Breaking Bad
-Game Of Thrones
-Girls
-Homeland
-Louie
-Mad Men
-Modern Family
-The Walking Dead

There’s nothing terribly shocking listed here, but that’s to be expected. The AFI never really goes after offbeat quirky stuff. They’re more into the “prestige” type movies. But that does make their lists a good indicator of the sorts of movies that might be winning lots of statuettes in the not-too-distant future.

On the movie side of things, I’m a little surprised to see The Dark Knight Rises named. I guess that’s their one nod in the direction of populism. The rest of the list is basically straight up Oscar bait. Although it is nice to see Django Unchained and Zero Dark Thirty make appearances. Those films are pretty much the last two I’m really anticipating before the end of the year.

As far as the TV goes, it’s a total mixed bag, at least for me. The only two on the list I keep up with are Louie and Homeland. I’ve seen bits and pieces of Breaking Bad and Mad Men (both of which I plan to revisit at some point in the very distant future when I have free time again). I’ve also seen some of Game Of Thrones and The Walking Dead, but I don’t think I’ll be going back to those any time soon. And Modern Family and Girls are shows I hear are good. So again, maybe someday when I have the time, I’ll watch ’em. As for American Horror Story, its inclusion is a bit baffling. I’ve heard it’s nothing but campy ridiculous nonsense. I guess that can be good or bad depending on your mindset…

Benedict Cumberbatch: Khan or not?
Honestly, I don’t even care anymore. Well, I never did in the first place actually. But this is news in a way, so I might as well mention it. Much has been made of the recent trailers for Star Trek: Into Darkness. There’s been a lot of speculation that this movie will feature a reboot of the Khan storyline from 1982’s Star Trek II: The Wrath Of Khan. Certain images in some of the promotional materials and certain lines of dialogue are leading people in that direction anyway.

Now we learn that Benedict Cumberbatch (thought by some to be playing Khan in the new film) is playing a character named John Harrison. Or is this just another misdirect?! Dun dun dun! … Yeah, actually I really don’t care. JJ Abrams always irritates me with his “mystery box” crap and the way he markets his movies. I’m gonna see it at some point anyway, so why should I sit there and get all wound up about something that will be revealed in due course? Usually the reveal is a lot less cool than what you envision in your mind anyway (the aliens from Super 8, anyone?) so what’s the point?

Leave a Reply

