Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

Announcing a new feature on the site

Film and ReelAlright, so here’s the deal. I don’t have much time for writing these days. Wait, no. That isn’t right. I have time for writing, but I choose to use it for other things. Like watching movies, reading, learning not to suck so bad on the guitar, etc. But it’s time for a change.

Writing is fun, and if I can’t get paid for it, then I might as well do it for nothing. At least that way I’ll get some practice. Hopefully keep my skills sharp. Or at the very least not let them dull too much.

Okay, enough preamble. The point is that starting today I’m going to be writing blog posts about… well, whatever. Movie and TV related stuff. My reactions to little pieces of news that come out. That kind of thing.

I’m going to try doing this daily, but I don’t know. Inevitably, there’ll be slow news days, and there’ll be big news days. So some posts might only be a few sentences, others, a few paragraphs. Either way, they aren’t going to be super-detailed breakdowns. Think of them more as news bulletins: “Here’s the news, here’s what I think about it, on to the next thing.” Headline, lede, a few grafs, done.

This first one should be pretty easy since I have some news saved up. Look for it shortly.

2 responses to “Announcing a new feature on the site

  1. Luis A. Ramirez (@wordforger) December 8, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Good luck with your endeavor. I know that writing can be a chore but also can be rewarding when you’ve finally written something down. I’ve tried several times to start and maintain a blog, only to finally scrap them and hopefully start anew in the future. I’ll probably try that again in 2013 and maybe you can serve as inspiration, No pressure really.

    To help you get started, knowing that you’re a Kevin Smith fan, I’m curious about what you think about his proclamation that Clerks 3 will be his last film. Is it a stunt? A good time to quit while he’s still admired as a fiilmmaker? Should he sell the entire View Askewniverse to Disney for 100 billion dollars? Curious minds want to know,

    • Mike Lake December 8, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      Funny you should ask about Smith, as he was indeed one of the topics of my first bulletin, which is now posted! I do think he should quit while he’s ahead. Or at the very least, stop returning to his Askew-niverse. Clerks II closed in a great way that felt like the perfect conclusion to the story of Dante and Randall. Going back to that world again is just inviting trouble, I think.

      And I don’t know if I buy Clerks III as his last movie or not. Obviously he’s not above saying crazy stuff just to get attention (i.e. his claim that he would “auction” Red State at Sundance). Sure, technically he did, but that was obviously just a big stunt. He knew it would get people talking, even though a lot of it would be bashing him personally. The only bad publicity is no publicity and all that…

      What I’d really like to see Smith do is continue to stretch (as he attempted to do in Red State). The end result was a mixed bag, but at least he tried something different. Or if he’s not up for that, maybe just be a writer and let someone else take over the reins as director? Writing has always been his strongest suit, so why not focus on that?

Leave a Reply

