Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

Slandering Others Anonymously Podcast Episode #1: Oscars Preview

The site’s first foray into the world of podcasting! This debut edition of the Slandering Others Anonymously Podcast features a rambling preview of the upcoming Academy Awards, as well as a quick countdown of my favourite films of 2010. All feedback is appreciated!

Download .mp3 (Right click -> Save as)

For added enjoyment, try the Slandering Others Anonymously Podcast drinking game: simply take a shot every time I use the words “definitely” or “awesome”. If you’re still conscious at the end of the episode, you win!

3 responses to “Slandering Others Anonymously Podcast Episode #1: Oscars Preview

  1. Luis Ramirez February 23, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Hey Mike… or should I say “FlanagansDog”, your superheroic identity at the Widescreen Warrior forums. Wordforge, here, from the same said forums.

    Listened to your podcast and it was nice and informative. You’ve got a clear “radio” voice and it’s apparent that you love movies from the way you express yourself. If there is one critique I would levy against you is that you do go off on tangents and stray off your main topic for awhile. Actually your tangents show how much you want to talk about all kinds of movies and are interesting, but I think a stronger focus would probably help make the podcast stronger.

    I think having someone else on the podcast would help the dynamic of the show as you would have someone to discuss various topics with. Perhaps you could convince certain “podcast hosts” to do a guest spot for a show or two. Heck, if I can muster the tech skill, I wouldn’t mind joining in an online conversation about film. I’m not up on current films but a discussion of older films would be welcome.

    As for your Oscar predictions and hopes they were fascinating to listen to. Personally, while I use the Oscars as a compass to direct me towards good films, their relevance to me has waned over the years. I’d rather use the opinions of people and critics I trust to guide me to the films I want to see. Still I look forward to your post-Oscar discussion and more of your future podcasts.

    • Mike Lake February 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Luis!

      In keeping with your suggestion, future episodes will probably have fewer of my random tangents. I think this first episode was a little all over the place just because there was so much ground to cover. I wanted to talk about my favourite films from last year but also get in some thoughts on the Oscars. As a result, there were many opportunities for me to sidetrack myself. From now on I’ll probably just have two segments – news, and what I’ve watched.

      That said, I reserve the right to ramble on about whatever comes to mind! I’m trying to resist too much formal structure simply because I don’t want to pretend to be something I’m not. I’m not a professional critic, I’m just an avid film fan. When it comes to movies, my mind often goes in a million directions at once. I feel like a really rigid format would kill some of the spontaneity.

      Anyway, next episode should be up tomorrow. I’ll be talking about (among other things) Unknown, The Red Circle, Three Kings, and Waiting For Superman.

  2. Pingback: The Best Of 2011 « Slandering Others Anonymously

Leave a Reply

