Slandering Others Anonymously

All things movies – news, reviews, and podcasts

Some thoughts on Shyamalan

Deadline reports M. Night Shyamalan’s next directorial project might be a Taken-esque story, but with some supernatural powers thrown into the mix.

Some thought it might be a sequel to Unbreakable, after the casting of Bruce Willis was announced, but that rumour can be put to bed for now. At this point, the movie is rumoured to star Bradley Cooper as a father whose son is kidnapped. Gwyneth Paltrow is also reportedly involved.

I’m mildly intrigued by this, which is more than I can say about any recent Shyamalan project. Many are keen to see what he does with The Last Airbender, but I can honestly say that story holds no interest for me. I was never a fan of the television show. I’m mostly just interested to see if Airbender can actually turn a profit, given its $280 million price tag.

I haven’t really enjoyed anything Shyamalan has done since Unbreakable. In fact, I know I’m in the minority here, but I thought Unbreakable was better than anything else he’s done, including The Sixth Sense.

I thought Signs was merely okay. I skipped over The Village because I read the horrible reviews plus had the films “twist” spoiled for me. I watched a portion of Lady In The Water on TV once but found it to be pretty dreadful and didn’t finish. And finally, I skipped The Happening due to much the same reasons as The Village.

So why am I at all interested? I guess maybe it’s just the Bruce Willis connection. Shyamalan has only made two films I really liked, and both starred Willis. Of course this time we’re told Bradley Cooper is the star, while Willis’ role is uncertain. I’m not much of a Bradley Cooper fan but just having Willis in the movie again feels like a good omen.

Whatever this movie ends up being, it’s still a long way off, but for now I’m cautiously optimistic.

Leave a Reply

